Applying a custom CSS 'palate' to an interface

We had a really useful session with Paul Edmonds looking at we can do with the current custom CSS functionality in the create platform. We have been musing on this since and wondered if there was any thought being given to adding the ability for organisations to create a custom palate that can then be applied to their interfaces. The idea being that instead of having to specify the custom css for each and every element, widget, and page you would create your palate, load it into the host then every page you built would have all of the predefined fonts, colours and branding available by default. An extension to the current theming function effectively.

Hi Richard,

I am not an expert on the theming side but…
In BS > Interface > Theming, we have the 6-colour palette. “Primary Color” etc. Is this what you mean but just with more colours?

(I think it is possible to have an “Early Style Sheet” containing SCSS that sets any number of bootstrap variables which I suspect can be used to conveniently setup a broader palette. But admittedly this is advanced and probably not the approach you are looking for).

Paul

Sort of. Being able to set your corporate theme up for all ‘elements’ of a page. At the moment the theming is set at quite a high level and for quite basic visuals. For example, out website buttons have graduated colours applied to them and we would like to replicate this in our builds. Whilst we are able to do this with custom CSS, it has to be applied to each button individually and can’t be added to the theme.

Hi Richard

I’m Interaction Designer at Croydon Council and I have worked on a method for theming our application pages.

Here’s a simplified summary of our approach.

1. We created a theme in:

Build Studio > Interface > Theming > Your Theme Name

We apply some base colour and font settings here as fallbacks but most of them are overridden by CSS in the next steps.