Populating a data object with multiple entries returned through an API call

Hi All

I’m new to Liberty Create, so please bear with me.

I’m trying to populate a list of addresses, returned from the the Ordnance Survey which match a specific postcode.

I have created a data object for the API call, one to store the search criteria, and a separate one for the list of addresses, an API connection, an API call and a rule.

When the rule fires the API call, it populates the list of addresses object, but only with one record (the first record returned), where as I need all addresses adding. I’ve checked the API Response Payload in the API call Object, and all addresses matching the postcode are returned.

How do I get all the addresses into the object and not one?

TIA

Stephen

Hi Stephen,

I was just about to respond to your earlier forum post.

If you are getting only a singular response it is likely because you are not using a template or using it incorrectly. Make sure there is a to-many relationship between the base object of your API request and the template containing the placeholder for your responses.

HI Adam

Thanks for the response.

Yes, there is a to-many relationship between my API request Data Object and the Object I plan to store the list of addresses in.

Yes, I’m using a template, although I’ve no idea if I’ve set it up correctly. In summary, I ran the API call in SoapUI, copied/pasted the results into a template adjusted it to add the placeholders as you suggest.

My current API Call config is as below. I don’t think it’s correct for my needs (it’s pretty much as per the “Introduction to API’s” training video). I’ve tried experimenting with the “Request Selection” and “Action” fields, but haven’t been able to get it to work as required.

Any further advice much appreciated.

Thanks

1 Like

For any future forum readers having similar difficulties: