Hints and Tips - Recording Prompts (For Christmas or any other time)

With Christmas fast approaching and several customers already asking how to record and upload prompts for their Dialogues, I thought I’d put together a little post about setting this up.

First, some pre-requisites to this instructional post.

1. I am a system administrator.

2. I am using a headset microphone to do these recordings.

3. I have installed (or had my IT department install) Audacity (a 3rd party tool for recording and editing audio). Of course, Netcall is not responsible for any non Netcall software, regardless of me mentioning it here. Please check with your IT department before installing any software. Also, other software is available; I prefer this one.

4. I know how to navigate around Dialogues.

Ok, that’s out of the way, let’s take a look at achieving our goal, which is: To record a Christmas message for our Dialogue stating we are closed and will reopen at 08:30 am on Tuesday the 4th Jan and have it start from 2 pm Christmas eve.

First is the Dialogue. I need to play the following message “We are now closed for the festive period. We will reopen at 08:30 am on Tuesday the 4th of January 2022. We wish you a very Merry Christmas and a wonderful new year.”

Over to the Dialogue, I go into the main Timeplan block I want to set my Christmas hours to and click on Add Another Choice.

Using the Date Picker (click on the calendar icon as shown)

Select the first day to play this message on. I want to start this at 2 pm on the 24th, so I select the 24th December 2021 and click OK.

I set the From Time to 14:00 and the To Time to 23:59 - using the GoTo drop-down list I select New Block > Message Block.

I will call this “Christmas Closure Message” and click OK.

To play the same message between the 25th of December and the 4th of January 2021 at 08:30, I add the following additional choices using the same process as above.